Dreams of Things To Come: Just Not Ready to Hand My Life Over to Rheumatoid Arthritis

I love martial arts.  Not the slow quiet kind.  No, I love the fast, explosive stuff….it sort of matches my personality.  Anyway, with rheumatoid arthritis, there is definitely a sense of loss and sadness for what could have been had I not been selected for this less desireable journey.   I went through a period of mourning when I finally accepted that who I was before (the disease got bad, I suppose) isn’t who I am now.   And to be quite honest, I a part of me still yearns for the days when I believed that I was, and would be forever, unencumbered by physical limitation.  It is that yearning that keeps me clinging tenaciously to the idea that maybe someday, if I stay committed to this plan that my doctor has set forth, I will be able to be a skilled (wushu) martial artist. So yeah, maybe today and for now, it is tai chi and yoga for me. But I have already come so far, why not strive for what I really want to do?   

On a Side Note:  Even for non-martial arts fans, this video is awesome! Definitely worth checking out.  It is my favorite.  I am such a wannabe.

…yes…ok….I may be a little over ambitious……maybe a little bit crazy…just a tad…..I can still dream though =)

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Leave a Reply

By Me

