A Day in the Life of a Gluten-Free Diet

So here it is!  Below is the food log of what I eat in a day while gluten-free….

Going gluten-free is like a gate-way to health for a lot of us with autoimmune diseases.  Once we take the plunge, our symptoms improve.  I personally was so amazed at my own improvement that I became curious to see how far I could go with diet alone – I am happy to report that I got really far.  In my pursuit for health, I changed my diet repeatedly.  In fact, over the last four years, my diet has gone from one end of the spectrum to the other.  For the purpose of offering a more realistic and accessible food journal sample, I felt it was necessary to post summaries from two different points in my own gluten-free journey.  I hope they are useful.

I don’t expect everyone to eat like me.  The logs are only an example of some of what can be eaten while gluten-free.  The point is to illustrate that one can easily eat heartily and healthfully.  I will be posting a link to many gluten-free recipes soon.  There are a ton of gluten-free recipes on the web, but personally, I find them all to be overwhelming.  There are just too many that don’t work or that are not good.  My link will only include recipes that I myself use and like.  No more guessing and hoping.

In the meantime, for those of you eager to get started, I encourage you to go on over to the Living Without Magazine website.  Most of their recipes work, so they have that in their favor.  They also print a lot of really neat variations on old-gluten-y favorites, like cinnamon rolls and cannoli.  When you are done scouring the website, head on over to your local library and check out an actual copy of Living Without Magazine.  The photography is like Playboy for your appetite; you will be salivating. 

 

 

Ok, ok, on to the food logs for real…..

Food Log of the Past Current Food Log
Breakfast:

  • Bacon, eggs, and gluten-free hash browns*.  Tropicana orange juice.

 

* BEWARE! Not all hash browns are gluten-free.  Always double-check.  Ore-Ida are NOT gf!

 

Breakfast: 

  • Homemade smoothie with a variety of fresh fruits and a protein such as hemp seed , or a powder such as Vega brand.

 

Lunch:

  • Turkey sandwich on Udi’s Gluten Free Bread with havarti cheese, lettuce, tomato, Vlasic dill pickles, and Boar’s Head Oven Gold sliced turkey.  Lay’s Original or Wavy Potato Chips.  Pepsi.

 

Lunch:

  • Brown rice bowl with fresh and steamed veggies, topped with a cashew sauce, salad dressing, or Ethiopian shiro. Water.

 

  • Homemade masa (corn) tortillas, with salsa and guacamole for dipping

 

Dinner:

  • Oven fried chicken* and fries.  Frozen corn. Pepsi

 

  • Chicken breast and homemade pesto pizza or pepperoni pizza* on Namaste brand, Glutino brand, or homemade gluten-free pizza crust.

 

* Recipe available in Patrice’s Allergen-Free Recipe Box on sidebar.  If it is not listed there yet, it’s because I am working on it and will be done soon. 

Dinner:

  • A fresh garden salad with a nut or seed based dressing.  Sounds boring, but the salads change daily depending on what is in season and on special.  You can get quite creative with ingredient combinations and dressings.

 

Desserts & Snacks:

  • Glutino Pretzels
  • Glutino Cookies
  • Homemade “Rice-Krispy*-like” treats made with peanut butter, and Erewhon puffed rice cereal

 

*BEWARE! Rice Krispies are NOT gluten-free! They contain malt flavoring which is barley based.

Desserts & Snacks:

  • Fresh homemade fruit or veggie juice
  • Nut based smoothie “shakes”
  • So-Delicious Brand Chocolate Mini popsicle
  • Tempt brand ice cream with Let’s Do Gluten brand cones
  • Incan Gold brand plantain chips

 

 

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura K.
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 16:03:03

    I’ve been enjoying reading your blog this week, Patrice! I’ve long thought our family could do with some dietary changes (and now dh has been having some issues, recently had the celiac blood test – came back neg, but taking that w/grain of salt). How did you start? Do you just wipe out your pantry and jump in with all new stuff? I want to know what the first steps look like – if I’ve missed an entry that details that part of the process, could you point it out? Thanks for sharing your journey – your writing is a joy to read!

    Reply

    • PMT
      Aug 12, 2010 @ 19:42:47

      Thank you so much Laura! You haven’t missed a thing. In fact, that is a great idea so I will go over the ins-and-outs of getting started gluten-free in the next day or so. Again, thank you so much for reading and commenting. =)

      Reply

  2. Christine
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 16:53:37

    OMG how awesome are you!!!
    Thank you for this post Patrice…seeing the food items posted this way really makes it seem doable and less threatening!!
    You are an inspiration to us all!
    :-). Christine. (-:

    Reply

    • PMT
      Aug 12, 2010 @ 19:44:17

      Oh good! I was hoping that it would be helpful. Let me know if you have any questions. Thank you Christine, you do really keep me going and appreciate all your support. =)

      Reply

  3. sheri russell
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 07:46:23

    This is awesome Patrice. I am only 3 weeks into gluten free and already feel better. I still have a lot to learn and appreciate learning from people who have been doing this. I get overwhelmed with the internet sometimes so appreciate your advice. Thanks so much!

    Reply

  4. PMT
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 15:21:34

    Congratulations Sherri! Good for you! So glad that I could help some. Good luck to you. =D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

By Me

