Carrying All That Baggage is Just Going to Make Your Hands Hurt Worse, Part 2: A List of Feelings

According to Karol Truman, author of Feelings Buried Alive, Never Die, feelings are associated with disease.  Below is her list of feelings that are related to arthritis and autoimmune disease:

Arthritis (in general)

  • Severely criticizing self of others
  • Holding onto feelings of hostility
  • Holding onto own opinions and beliefs
  • Long term tension or anger in life
  • Feelings of anxiety
  • Depression endured over long periods of time
  • Belief that it’s wrong to get angry which creates:
  • Repressed anger that “eats you up”
  • Need to be right
  • Rigid in thinking and feelings
  • Uncompromising attitude
  • Inflexibility

Rheumatoid Arthritis (specifically):

  • Body is receiving conflicting messages, like:
  • Laughing on the outside, but crying on the inside
  • Feels totally helpless in ability to change life’s burdens

Autoimmune (in general):

  • Laughing on the outside, but crying on the inside
  • Feels totally helpless
  • Have given up
  • Deep seeded/seated grief

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine Thornton
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 21:18:08

    What a great blog Patrice!
    I am a huge believer in somatization- and have lived it myself- BIGTIME! You-know- the “I can do anything attitude, just burry the stressful event and keep pushing on without processing/feeling/taking my time and letting go. Actually before I had RA I had a car accident while I was working (my full-time job with developmentally challenged adults- who were actually in my car) in University. I was injured iin the accident but was determined that I “would be healed in 3 weeks” with a “hard core physio program” ha ha ha…did I ever have a lot to learn. 🙂 I ended up having to take a year off of school and my various jobs in order to “let my body heal and learn how to stop internalizing my stress and creating illness or agrevating current illness / injury – I almost caused lifelong muscle damage with my previous approach. I joined a great program that taught meditation & awareness, biofeedback etc & I did a lot of feedback- I also learned that even if I believe we can do what ever we set out mind to we also don’t have to do it immediately- we have to pace oursellves and live in the moment so that we don’t internalize and car use ourselves to be sick from the inside out. I’m thinking about taking a course on Mindfulness (one of my girlfriend who is an occupational therapist teaches this as a means to control and treat depression and anxiety and she swears by it. it sounds amazing, but I can’t seem to stick to it just on my own sheer will so I think I need a course.).
    BTW, I ABSOLUTELY LOVE what you have done with your Flare and Back again page- We should do something JUST Like this esthetically for our book 😀 You never cease to amaze me Patrice 😀

    Reply

    • PMT
      Aug 26, 2010 @ 15:06:07

      But sheer will and determination are such GOOD qualities I thought! LOL. I have lived much of my life by will so I can totally relate to your method of trying to heal. It works for somethings but there is always a cost unfortunately. Sometimes, I wish life could work like that; declare and will it so. I think you should take that course. Then we can write about that too! =)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

By Me

